Pioneers in the Field Archive

Introducing our inaugural class of Pioneers in the Field

Pioneers in the Field was created to highlight the stories of professionals in our industry who always endure the long hours and mother nature’s wrath to provide some of the best playing surfaces in the nation.

Our Pioneers not only take great pride in what they do on their fields. They take pride in being able to further the industry as a whole, whether that be through mentoring the next generation of sports turf managers or redefining the role of a groundskeeper all together. Each Pioneer you’ll read about today is sure to leave a legacy as a sports turf manager, co-worker and friend. We’re honored to be able to share a part of their story. Our 2020 class of Pioneers are members of communities, teams and families that are proud to call them their own.


Tod Shafer

Groundskeeper // Louisville Bats & Facility Manager // Oldham County High School

Andrew Miller

Director of the Turfgrass Management Program // Brentsville District High School

Weston Appelfeller

Senior Director of Grounds // Austin FC

Jeff Feltman

Sports Facility Manager // Christ Church Academy

Stephen Lord

Head Groundskeeper // Cincinnati Reds

Josh Carico

Athletic Fields Supervisor // Harrisonburg City Schools