Welcome to Pioneers in the Field

Introducing our Pioneers in the Field - Class of 2022

Groundskeepers are the silent warriors of the sports arena. When the lights are low and the stands are empty, long before the cheers and commotion commence, they take their battle to the field. When no one's looking they set the stage for tradition, community and victory.

Our third Pioneers in the Field class comes equipped with experience spanning over decades, innovations with lasting impact and qualities that serve as inspiration to us all. We are honored to present the 2022 class of turf professionals and help tell their stories. Members of this class are not only leaders in their communities but are also improving the landscape of our industry.

Sun Roesslein

Stadium Manager // North Area Athletic Complex

Mike Hebrard

Owner // Athletic Field Design

Frank Avalos

Head Maintenance Repairman // Rocky River School District

Mike Garcia

Stadium Foreman // Oklahoma City Public Schools

John Clintsman

Head of Grounds // Ensworth School

Wayne Ward

Turf and Grounds Manager // Raymond James Stadium